The First Award was the FMT Bunney Trophy for the County Championship Player of the Year.

This was awarded to Joe Rees

Joe plays No 8 for Bournemouth, whilst being a resident of the Isle of Wight.
During the County season Joe played both in the back row and second row, and was a major factor in the sides success in reaching the final at Twickenham. He played the full 80 minutes in all four games,  and was an inspiration to the whole squad on and off the pitch, despite Hampshire having the lighter pack in all of the games played, Joe never took a step back and set the example for others to follow.
Joe is a credit to Hampshire Rugby and fully deserves the award of the FMT Bunney trophy for 2017.

Joe received the Trophy and Tankard from the President Rick Scott.


Joe Rees


The Brian Short Memorial Trophy –

Brian Short, former County President, was an enthusiastic supporter of County youth rugby and wanted an annual award to go to a young Hampshire player who epitomised the spirit of Hampshire rugby: not necessarily the best player but one who put in the effort and was a team player.

This year’s winner was Shawahang (Shawa) Rai.

Shawa, from Camberley RFC and Wavell College, was an ever present member of the U18 squad and was the first name down in the back row on Clive Cashell's selections for the forwards. Shawa has an uncanny ability to always be in the right place at the right time and makes a huge difference at every breakdown he's involved in, with his work rate and great body position giving him the advantage over bigger more cumbersome opposition. 

 Unlucky not to be selected for the divisional trials, 'Shawa' always represented the best in rugby and continues to be a credit for his club, college and of course the County.

Shawa received the Trophy and Tankard from the President Rick Scott.


Shawa Rai


The Robbie Keast Awards

Robbie Keast, who had played for the County U15’s, 16’s and 17’s; at the age of twenty-two and having just gained first class honours in Engineering at Warwick University, died in a road accident. His family and friends made a very generous donation to Hampshire Schools RFU which has enabled two awards to be made in his memory – one for U16’s and one for U18’s. The Awards are in recognition of commitment, dedication and to a player who shows true qualities of sportsmanship.

The President introduced Robbie’s Father Gary who was present to award the Robbie Keast Awards to this year’s recipients.

The Robbie Keast U16 Award went to Tom Bloomer

Tom epitomises the criteria for this award in every sense and was a unanimous choice from the coaches and myself. Nothing appears to phase this young man who meets every challenge with a positive attitude and a can do mentality. He has 100% commitment in all that he does and truly inspires his fellow team mates. He works hard to maintain his place in the team and is his own worse critic as he strives to play the best he can. He is a very coachable individual who listens well and asks the right questions. He helps clear away after sessions/matches, speaks well for his peers and is a good link between the players and coaching team. He has a good grasp of the game and understands the more complex drills that have been introduced at this level and because of this is confident to give input which adds value.

He is a naturally respectful person to all around him and because of these qualities he stepped into the role of squad captain when we unfortunately lost our captain to injury.
He very much has a cheeky side to him and is definitely a 'Glass Half Full' character, tenacious, passionate and well rounded...Tom Bloomer.

Tom received the Trophy and Tankard from the President Rick Scott.


Tom Bloomer


The Robbie Keast U18 Award went to Cameron McDonald

Cameron, from Amersham and Chiltern RFC and Farnborough College played in all four of the U18 County fixtures this season and was subsequently selected for London & SE Division U18's. Following some outstanding performances in the London side, Cameron was subsequently selected for the England U18 Counties side and took part in a 2 game tour to Ireland at the end of the season. This has been a tremendous season for Cameron and he was a unanimous choice for the Robbie Keast Award not just for his representative honours, but equally for his attitude and record as a ' squad man' and his obvious pride in representing Hampshire.

Cameron received the Trophy and Tankard from the President Rick Scott.


Cameron McDonald


The John Sneezum U20 Captains Tankard – was awarded to Stefan Younghusband

Stefan has been an excellent captain of this season’s under 20 squad which exceeded expectations by some margin.  In our first year in the top level Championship he led the team to the semi-final finally succumbing to the power and experience of Yorkshire, who went on to win the competition for the third year in succession. Despite an injury in the early part of the season Stefan attended most training sessions and matches, travelling back from university in Loughborough, and he led the team by example throughout. His personal efforts were rewarded with representative honours for the London and Southeast Division and he was also selected as a reserve for the England Counties under 20s for their end of season tour to the Netherlands. He has made a very significant contribution to another highly successful season for the County under 20 team

Stefan received the Captains Tankard from the President Rick Scott.


Stefan Younghusband


County Badge Awards


In recognition of their service to the Union, County Badges are awarded to:

Garry Doherty for his service to the Hampshire RFU as the Executive Director.

The President awarded the Badge to Garry.

GD County Badge



Mike Greenslade for his contribution to Club Hampshire and HEPT over the years - (Mike was unable here tonight to receive his badge due to work commitments in London the award will be done at a later date)


Richard Showan for his contribution to Hampshire referees society over the years, and his contribution to Hampshire RFU as the Finance chairman.

The President awarded the Badge to Richard.


RDS County Badge




Vice President nominations

The Management Board nominated Tim Allen, Richard Isaacs and Alan Morgan to become Vice Presidents and receive the County Shield.

The President awarded the County Plaque to Tim Allen 




The President awarded the County Plaque to Richard Isaacs




(Alan was not able to be present and his award will be made at a later date)

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site

EU Cookie Directive Plugin Information