Hampshire U18’s are expected to be at full strength for the final match of their London & SE Divisional programme when they play Hertfordshire at Welwyn RFC this Sunday, 8th November.

Their most recent match was against an unbeaten Sussex side whose forwards dominated much of the play but who found it increasingly difficult to penetrate a resolute Hampshire defence.

At first, it had looked as though Sussex would prove too strong for within 20 minutes their lock Lewes Morton had crossed the line twice to put his side 10-0 ahead.

However within minutes Hampshire replied through a well taken try by Timoci Kadavu on the wing and which Daniel Heyes converted to make it 7-10.

The scores remained at 7-10 in favour of Sussex for long periods of the second half and on three occasions Sussex were only held up over the Hampshire line by dint of heroic resistance manfully lead by captain Matt Kouris. 

A desperate clearance kick down field suddenly relieved the pressure for Hampshire and gave replacement winger Charlie Thompson the chance to outpace the Sussex defence and pounce for a try which was again converted by Daniel Heyes and put Hampshire 14-10 ahead.

Sussex were soon camped back on the Hampshire line and it seemed probable that they were going to get back their unbeaten record.

They needed to score a try to win and perhaps rashly turned down a number of kickable penalties.

Just before ‘No-side’ Charlie Thompson made victory certain for Hampshire when he intercepted a pass out wide and ran the length of the pitch scoring his side’s third try which was converted by Daniel Heyes

Hampshire had gained an unlikely but courageous victory.

The team to play Hertfordshire:    

15 Douglas WICKS - Alton College & Winchester RFC
14 Charlie THOMPSON - Churchers College & Petersfield RFC
13 Ben QUERA - Portsmouth Grammar School & Trojans RFC
12 Charlie BOLTON - King Edward VI, Southampton Trojans RFC
11 Adam MUSA - Yateley VI Form College Camberley RFC
10 Daniel HEYES - Portsmouth Grammar Sch. & Havant RFC
9 Theo PRITCHARD - King Edward VI, Southampton & Basingstoke RFC
1 Elliott BELLMAN - Oaklands Catholic College & Havant RFC
2 Matt KOURIS [Captain] - Seaford College & London Irish
3 Oliver BAKER-CLIPSTON - Brockenhurst College & New Milton RFC
4 Ed GRINSTED- King Edward VI, Southampton & Chichester RFC
5 Rob CUFFE - Oaklands Catholic College & Havant RFC
6 Matthew WHITEHEAD - Southdowns College & Havant RFC
7 Josh MOORE - Peter Symonds College & Winchester RFC
8 Jordan GRAY - Hampshire Collegiate School & Andover RFC

16 Michael PARNABY - Salesian College & Camberley RFC
17 Alex BUCK - Barton Peveril College & Trojans RFC
18 Will HARVEY - Bedales & Winchester RFC
19 Grant HILL - St Vincent College & Gosport & Fareham
20 Sam WEBB - King Edward VI, Southampton & Trojans RFC
21 Tim RUSSELL - Havant RFC VI Form College & Havant RFC
22 Ty NAIVALULEVU -Fareham College & Gosport & Fareham RFC
23 Timoci KADAVU -St Vincent College & Gosport & Fareham RFC

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site

EU Cookie Directive Plugin Information